Every Moment Counts: A Book Giveaway

8 Oct

We are Luddites here at Modern Messy, at least according to our kids. We don’t have any iPads for them to play with and they are very rarely allowed to play with our phones. Nevertheless, they still have managed to learn how to navigate a computer and they do quite well on our laptops and PCs.

And even though we try to limit their screen time on these devices and on TVs too, the lure of putting them into “electronic zombie mode” as I like to call it, is often too hard to resist. It’s the only way to keep them quiet! But resist we must, and into this terrifying void comes a book that is perfect for our time.

Just released today, it is called “The Teachable Minute: The Secret to Raising Smart & Appreciative Kids,” by Dr. Connie Hebert. Its premise is simple: throughout our daily routines and outings with our kids, there are hundreds of little moments we can grasp in order to share knowledge, teach a lesson or just have fun. She said we need to minimize our use of devices when kids are around and use the time to show, ask and teach. Technology is not the most important thing, she says, THEY are. She recounts a sad story about a little boy at lunch with his mom.  He was trying to show her what he was drawing and engage her in conversation. The entire time, she never looked up from her phone — not once. This makes my heart hurt, especially for all the times I probably tuned my kids out in favor of the computer. I think we all can use some help in this area.

The book is a quick read and even if you just pick the parts you like and try to do one or two things she recommends, you will feel like a better, calmer parent. (Keep reading for how you can win a copy in my Book Giveaway!)

The book is divided into sections based on the places people typically go with kids — the gas station, the grocery store, the post office, a baseball game, the dentist’s office, the zoo, the rest room (a great place for teaching kids the words “men” and “women” or “family”)  — or the parts of your house that are meaningful to them — the kitchen, the yard, the the dinner table, the bathtub. She has these really fun and simple ideas for relating an idea to the activity in question and her suggestions are labeled for both little kids and older kids. For instance, in the bathroom you can teach the littles the concepts of Hot and Cold and think of other words that start with the same letters. And you can teach them how to scrub the tub, she says! Awesome, sign me up. For older kids, she suggests getting them thinking about how the water reaches the bathroom faucet or what they would do if the toilet overflowed or the sink clogged. (I guess “Run and get your father” is not the answer she was going for?)

More poignantly, she also has suggestions for teaching them about what happens at a hospital in case they ever have to go there (our twins did) and what to say at a funeral to those grieving a loved one (we’ve been in that situation too). The ideas are very straightforward and would be helpful to any kid in that situation. The key is just making the foreign accessible and practicing what to say or do.

I personally learned some very practical information, such as in the section on taking your kids to visit a college campus. What an interesting idea for a day out, by the way. And it’s free! She gave a tip for teaching older kids to stay safe in parking lots or dark streets, especially if they feel someone is following them. Start walking fast in the direction of your car or dormitory and call out “Hey, I’m coming! How are you?” This will make the follower think there are people around. Now that’s news you can use. I hadn’t thought of that before, but that’s a good tip for anyone.

Dr. Hebert is someone I met in my online travels and interviewed for a great post about encouraging a love of reading in your kids. After that, she kindly sent me her book and asked me to write a little blurb for the cover, which I enjoyed doing.  I think my readers would enjoy the book too, so I have a little treat for you. Anyone who responds to this question with a comment below will be entered into a drawing for a copy of the book. I’ll keep the contest open until Thursday night and announce the winner on Friday morning.

Here’s the question: what is your best tip for turning a boring or stressful part of your day with the kids into a fun moment?

No judgments here. If your answer is “Stuff ‘em full of jelly doughnuts,” or, “Throw a smartphone in every grubby hand,” so be it! My two favorite things to do are turn on some singalong music (and that could be anything from Mother Goose to the Beach Boys to the Ramones) and talk in silly voices. I have this super goofy persona named Franz that I bring out when the kids aren’t listening to me. My oldest is tiring of this, so for her I often will try to think of some absurdity that begins with “Imagine if…” She’s very good at it too. She likes to imagine what it would be like if we had 100 copies of our twins. Or what it would be like if birds were wearing hats made out of newspaper and betting on horse races. (Actually, it is me who wonders that, but who’s keeping track?)

OK, so ready, set, go……

8 Responses to “Every Moment Counts: A Book Giveaway”

  1. Mark Leach October 8, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    With my son (7) and daughter (9), boredom results in them seeking refuge in the electronic zombie mode offered by the ipad or Nintendo DS. To bring them back into reality, I physically hoist them up and start roughhousing. Once their bodies are in motion, their minds soon follow and we can then make a plan for having fun together, off of the screens.

    • modernmessy October 8, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      Mark, that sounds like so much fun. Roughhousing is an art!

  2. t @ Happy Soul Project October 8, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    Ahh love this- I’m so guilty of tuning out at times…What I do is puzzles…if my toddler is losing his mind, I’m stressed out & the baby is crying- we simply all sit down the 3 of us & work on his animal puzzles….Don’t get me wrong a good old episode of Bubble Guppies & a cookie go a long way too!

    • modernmessy October 8, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

      Bubble Guppies and cookies — I must admit, that sounds appealing to me too. Puzzles are a great idea; I love when they can do them all on their own!

  3. Colleen October 8, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Now that my kids are 5 and 7 we can play word games if we are stuck waiting somewhere or on a long train ride – we rhyme, do opposites, play “what am I? (Kid version of 20 questions) anything to avoid “the whine”

    • modernmessy October 8, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

      Colleen, I love the word game idea! And I think you have just created a title for a fantastic horror movie: “The Whine.”

  4. Alicia October 10, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    My solution – in the house and usually in public too, to be honest – is to start singing to my 4 and 2 year old. I’ll sing a current favorite, I’ll take requests, I’ll make up my own songs – or my own personal favorite – I’ll sing Broadway showtunes with jazz hands. More often than not, the kids join in and before long we have more smiles than we started with. Worst case, we annoy everyone around us while we belt out tunes…but honestly it helps me remember to not sweat the small stuff. Once in awhile though, I do pull up my Laurie Berkner iPhone app and let her do the singing. :)

    • modernmessy October 11, 2013 at 1:00 am #

      Alicia — I love it! Jazz hands and everything — that’s impressive. Sound so fun — I love Laurie Berkner too. Thanks for writing in!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

