The “R” Word: A Brief History

15 Aug

This is the best post I have read explaining why casual (and purposeful) uses of the word “retarded” hurt families of children with special needs. It also does a great job exploring the word’s evolution from clinical term to slur.

Life As I Know It

When Finn was but a wee newborn lying on a tiny bed in the NICU recovering from surgery, a blood test confirmed what my midwife had suspected: that he had Down syndrome.  I thought that empowering myself with information might be a good idea, because for the most part Down syndrome was a huge mystery to me.  Really all I knew was that people with Down syndrome looked different, they usually had bad haircuts and wore bad clothes, they were prone to heart defects and maybe some other vague medical issues, and most of all, that Down syndrome was definitely something awful that nobody wanted their kid to have.  Michael and I headed to Barnes & Noble to see if we could find some books on the subject (and I’ll never forget, we saw a young woman waiting in line to pay – a young woman who had Down…

View original post 1,068 more words

2 Responses to “The “R” Word: A Brief History”

  1. Sadye July 6, 2014 at 2:36 am #

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after going through a
    few of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow,
    I’m definitely happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

    • modernmessy July 7, 2014 at 11:40 am #

      Wonderful! Thank you so much for writing in. I’m glad you enjoyed it and will be coming back. You can become a follower (click on bottom right corner) to get emails when I publish a new post. You can also become a fan on Facebook — the link is on my homepage. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

